Starbucks Stuttgart, Germany

Image via Wikipedia

A stranger’s compassion

This morning I stopped at Starbucks on my way into work. I was in need of a pick-me-up after spending the first hour of my day with my legs spread at the doctor’s office. While I was waiting for my Pumpkin Spice Latte, a man walked up to the register to order. The first thing out of his mouth was “I’m deaf”. The barista handled this customer without flinching and was very helpful taking his order. But I couldn’t I help but pause for a few moments to think about that statement. I realized he didn’t need to tell the barista about his disability but I wondered if he was tired of people treating him as if he’s dumb just because he can’t hear. He wore his disability on his sleeve.

Our hidden disabilities

There was another man in Starbucks at the time and I had noticed his unusual behavior when he was in front of me in line and waiting for his coffee. He appeared to have a mental disability. I was reminded that we all have disabilities. Some are just more obvious than others. I felt fully aware of my inability to conceive and somehow grateful that the whole world doesn’t know.

One pump of pumpkin spice grace

My morning stop for coffee gave me more than a caffeine buzz, it gave me an added measure of grace for the people I meet today. We all have a disability we’re fighting. Something that isn’t right in our lives. While some people’s are easy to see, others are deep and personal. And while I feel like my disability is the worst because it’s hits so close to my heart, I realize that we all are fighting something bigger than ourselves.

-S-

