I’ve been sick for the past couple days and have spent most of my time sleeping. In between naps, my mom brought over some homemade chicken noodle soup and a torn-out page from World Magazine of an editorial she found interesting. While that article was thought-provoking, what really captivated me was the article on the back. It’s titled “No turning back; In the face of tragedy, a family’s choice to praise God challenges us to do the same.”

This is a thought that’s been on my mind a lot lately. Praise in the midst of tragedy. Gratefulness in the midst of destruction. The article tells of Scott and Janet Willis who “lost six children in a single day when a piece of metal fell off a truck and punctured the gas tank of their minivan.” In moments, their world forever changed. Unexplainable circumstances and unbelievable loss. I can’t begin to imagine the scene.

But in just a few more lines, the tragedy is overshadowed by the response. As Scott was being helped to the ambulance, he yelled to his wife in the midst of the chaos, “Psalm 34“. Her hands were badly burned in the accident and surrounded by emergency workers, she said over and over, “I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be on my mouth.”

Just feet away from their burning car and the grave of their 6 children, Scott and Janet made the conscious decision to praise the Lord.

Their faithfulness leaves me speechless.

But Janet and Scott are not alone, the Bible and our own lives are full of these inspiring examples.

“Though He slay me, yet I will trust Him” Job 13:15

Sing, O barren one, who did not bear” Isaiah 54:1

Even Jesus made the decision to trust when he said, “I will put my trust in Him.” Hebrews 2:13

I too have a choice over how I respond to infertility.

I can be jealous and bitter and separate myself from my expecting friends. Or, I can choose to praise. The article in World Magazine says it best;

” A command to sing at such a time would be cruel counsel if it were not true that in worship we find deliverance. Praise meets trauma where nothing else can reach. Praise in the face of devastation reaches blessings obtainable in no other way. The presence of God is directly related to worship.”

Right now, the trauma in my life is infertility. I don’t know if I’ll ever be blessed with the miracle of life growing inside me or if I’ll ever get to see tiny eyes that look like me and my husband. But what I do know is that I have complete control over how I choose to respond. Thanks to the faithful example of the Willis Family and so many who have gone before me, I will choose to praise.

-Sarah

