One of my closest friends found out she miscarried this past weekend. This was her first pregnancy and she and her husband are struggling to handle the loss.

I’m reminded of a thought that came to me a couple of months ago when reading the Creation story. I’ve heard and read that story a million times, but for some reason a new lesson popped off the page. I love how God does that! Scripture is unlike any other book because it is actually alive.

Anyway, back to the lesson He revealed to me. After Adam and Eve eat the forbidden fruit, they’re cursed and forced to leave the Garden. Adam is cursed with hard work the rest of his life and Eve is cursed with pain in childbirth.

“I will make your pains in childbearing very severe;
with painful labor you will give birth to children.
Your desire will be for your husband,
and he will rule over you.” Genesis 3:16 NIV

This verse stuck out to me because for the first time I heard it differently. Could it be that the pains in childbearing mean all the pains associated with having children? Could those pains include infertility? miscarriage? So I turned to the Amplified version to see what it said. I love how wordy this translation can be!

“To the woman He said, I will greatly multiply your grief and your suffering in pregnancy and the pangs of childbearing; with spasms of distress you will bring forth children.” Genesis 3:16, Amplified Bible

So when I’m feeling overwhelmed by the sadness of this infertility journey, or the trials my friends are facing, I’m reminded that this also makes God sad. This wasn’t His plan. He designed us for the Garden. To be in perfect communion with Him and one another. But sin entered the picture and ruined that plan.

I don’t know if this will encourage anyone else, but for some reason it helps me when I can understand the reason behind something. Our sin and the curse have tarnished the perfect lives that God had planned for us, but thankfully I know Someone who conquered that Curse.

-Sarah

